YTAA – EU Mies Award

YTAA, as (inherent) part of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award, is organised by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe with the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union. It is organised in partnership with the European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE) and the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE-CAE); World Architects as a founding partner; the European Cultural Centre as a partner in Venice; sponsored by Jung, Jansen and Regent Lighting; and with the support of USM.

By bringing together the most talented graduated architects and some of the best architecture firms and institutions in Europe, the Winners of YTAA have the chance to develop strategies, synergies or complementarities with the firms and institutions of their interest/choice.

As the YTAA is an EU-funded initiative, we are in the process of updating some of the content on this website in the light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.


What is it about?

The YTAA aims to support the talent of recently graduated Architects, Urban Planners and Landscape Architects, who will be responsible for transforming our environment in the future. YTAA has emerged from an interest the initial stages of these students’ development and a desire to support their talent as they enter into the professional world.


Who & How?

The nominated Graduation projects must be from the two years previous to the year of the Award. YTAA 2020 will accept projects presented and approved by the respective Schools between January 1st, 2018 and December 31st, 2019. The Schools must be from countries participating in the Creative Europe programme[1]. Furthermore, to stimulate the competitiveness and quality of European Schools, a number of other Schools from the European Territory[2]and from selected Guest Countries outside it will be invited to participate in each cycle. For the YTAA 2020 edition the guest countries will be Brazil, Chile and Mexico.

Schools will nominate Graduation Projects that will participate in each edition of the YTAA through an internal selection process.

The Winners will be chosen by an international Jury from among the Finalists, and a group of Shortlisted Works will also be selected in order to illustrate different ways of working, designing and communicating.

[1] This includes: – Member States of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

– the United KIngdom – the following EFTA countries: Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland – the following Western Balkan countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo (this designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence), North Macedonia, Montenegro, Republic of Serbia. – the following countries from the European Neighbourhood Policy: Georgia, Moldova, Tunisia, Ukraine Negotiations are under way with other European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) countries and could result in more countries joining the programme. These countries would then be taken into consideration for participation in the award scheme. Please check the following link, which is regularly updated: https://eacea.ec.europa.eu/creative-europe/library/eligibility-organisations-non-eu-countries_en

[2] The countries from the European Territory include: – other ENP countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus – Russia, Turkey.


Why participate?

All nominated designs will be published online, and in a catalogue, and will become part of the Archive of the YTAA as recognition of their authors and the Schools.

The four Winners will be supported in the creation of a network with the architects and critics involved in the EU Mies Award. They will a diploma and also receive 5.000€ each; a profile in World Architects; furniture from USM to organise their work space; their designs will be shown at the YTAA 2020 traveling exhibition.

Finalists and Shortlisted participants will also be acknowledged and their Schools will receive special recognition.

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is composed of the most prestigious European cultural organisations in the field of architecture, urban planning and landscape architecture, which work closely with the Fundació Mies van der Rohe in the EU Mies Award and the YTAA process.